College of Agriculture, Food and Environment Equine Advisory Committee (est. 2010)

In 2010, a College-level advisory committee was put into place, replacing the former Equine Initiative Interim Industry Advisory Committee that had been established in 2006. The advisory committee reports to the Dean and offers advice from a valued industry perspective about UK’s equine programs. Make-up of that committee is as follows:

  • Norman K. Luba, Chair, executive director, North American Equine Ranching Information Council (NAERIC)
  • Stuart Brown, DVM, Hagyard Equine Medical Institue
  • Andrew Clark, DVM, MBA, LLC
  • Edith Conyers, Maryster Farm
  • Matt Koch, Shawhan Place Farm
  • Reese Koffler-Stanfield, Maplecrest Farm
  • Jamie Link, Executive Director, Kentucky Horse Park
  • Dick Lockhart
  • Kenny McPeek, McPeek Racing
  • Glenye Cain Oakford
  • Tom Riddle, DVM, Rood & Riddle Equine Hospi­tal
  • Fred Sarver, Cornerstone Farm
  • David Switzer, VDL advisory board, past executive director Kentucky Thoroughbred Association, Inc.


UK College of Agriculture, Food and Environment representatives include:

  • Rick Bennett, PhD, Associate Dean, College of Agriculture, Food and Environment and Kentucky Agricultural Experiment Station director
  • Bob Coleman, PhD, curriculum committee, associate director, undergraduate education
  • Nancy Cox, PhD, Dean, College of Agriculture, Food and Environment
  • Jill Stowe, PhD, UK Ag Equine Programs director
  • Holly Wiemers, MA, communications director, UK Ag Equine Programs